So Fresh and So Clean Clean

Its been a looooong time since I last posted but I am back! Not sure how often I’ll post but hopefully more frequently then I have been.

I have been wanting to do this post for awhile and even took pics of me making everything but unfourtunately I lost the pics when my iPad met an untimely death in my bath tub (I mourned my loss for several days). However I shall still write a post about it, just minus the pics *sigh*.

I enjoy making a lot of my own cleaners because it saves me money and I think its fun to try new things. Besides it  feels great when something actually works out. Several months ago a friend of mine, Mama Gail, gave me a recipe for her homemade laundry soap. It looked really easy to make and seemed to do a good job cleaning clothes. Also only having to spend a few dollars to make 5 GALLONS of laundry soap seemed to good to be true.

Homemade Laundry Soap

1/2 bar Fels Naptha soap

1 cup Arm and Hammer Washing Soda (not baking soda!)

1 cup Borax

1 5 gallon bucket with lid

water

Grate the 1/2 bar of Fels Naptha soap and put into a large pot. Add water, about 8 cups of water is fine. Heat over medium to medium high heat, stirring until the soap is all dissolved/melted. Add the Borax and Washing Soda and stir until all dissolved. Fill the 5 gallon bucket halfway with warm water and add the soap mixture. Stir the mixture together with a wisk until well combined, fill the bucket up the rest of the way with warm water (leave a few inches at the top for stirring room). Give the mixture another stir and let sit 24 hours to thicken. Use 1 cup of laundry soap per larg load of laundry, adjust amounts according to size of load.

I have been using this laundry soap for about 2 1/2 months and love it! It cleans our clothes really well and leaves the clothes smelling clean but not strongly scented. It also does well with sensitive skin. I was concerned at first about how this would do with little beans and mine skin because we both have eczema and can’t use many products because they hurt our skin. This laundry soap however caused no reaction, rashes or anything!

I will break down the cost of the laundry soap soon. I had all the prices for everything but lost those too with the sinking of my iPad:(

Thanks again Mama Gail for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

